If you've been refused a DataAnnotation project, watched your dashboard sit empty for a week, or just want a backup, you're not short of options. There are at least 15 worker platforms that pay people to rate, write and check AI output, and a handful of older gigs that work the same way: flexible, remote, contractor-style. The catch in 2026 is that the market has cooled, and the pay figures most listicles repeat ("$25–$100 an hour!") are averages of advertised listings, not what people take home.
So this guide does three things. It compares the platforms side by side with pay ranges and their sources. It is blunt about the drought. And it shows how to tell a real platform from a fake "AI trainer" recruiter. Pay figures below come from company pages where they exist and otherwise from third-party analyses of listings and worker reports; we label which is which.
Sites like DataAnnotation at a glance
Pay is what third-party analyses report for US-based workers on typical projects, not a guarantee. Platforms change rates and projects without notice, so read the ranges as a ballpark.
| Platform | Typical pay (per hour) | Entry screen | Payout |
|---|---|---|---|
| DataAnnotation.tech | $20 generalist; $40+ coding | Paid-by-the-hour assessment, 1–3 hours | Weekly, PayPal |
| Outlier | $12–$28 general; $28–$60 code and expert | Open sign-up; credential checks for expert work | Weekly, Stripe or PayPal |
| Alignerr | Listings span $20–$150+; workers report far less on some tracks | Application plus AI interview | Varies by project |
| Mercor | $30–$100+ | Resume review plus AI interview | Weekly, Stripe |
| Remotasks | Low, geography-priced | Open sign-up where available | Weekly, PayPal |
| TELUS Digital AI Community | $12–$20; $25–$45 on some English roles | Qualification exams for raters | Varies by project |
| Appen CrowdGen | About $12 average; $9–$20 typical | Project-level qualification tests | Varies by project |
| OneForma | $5–$15 | Project-level screening | Varies by project |
| Prolific | $8 floor; $12–$22 reported | Profile screening | Per study |
| Mindrift (Toloka) | $15–$100+ advertised | Screening for better tasks | Twice monthly, Payoneer |
| Handshake AI | $30–$125; $75–$125 for advanced degrees | Application plus interview | Biweekly payroll |
| RWS TrainAI | $12–$18 general; $18–$35 domain annotation; $50–$250 for senior technical/ML specialists | Application plus skills test | Varies by project; worker reports describe frequent payment delays |
| Clickworker | $2–$7 on general microtasks; $12–$20 on Microsoft UHRS search-evaluation tasks | Open sign-up | Weekly |
| Surge AI | $5–$30 by task type (response rating, labeling, writing) | Open sign-up, profile plus screening test | Not publicly disclosed |
| Invisible Technologies | $20 generalist; $35–$65+ for finance/government/tech specialists | Domain assessment; verified background for specialist tracks | Not publicly disclosed |
Sources for the table: DataAnnotation pay and payout details (Time) and a 2026 three-way comparison; Outlier pay by task type; Alignerr and Mercor listing data; CrowdGen listing analysis; Appen, TELUS and OneForma ranges; Toloka and Mindrift; Handshake AI; RWS TrainAI pay and Trustpilot data; Clickworker pay by task type; Surge AI pay by task type; Invisible Technologies pay by specialization. All of these are third-party estimates, not company-published pay scales.
A second cut, because pay is only half the question: who can join, and what specialist work exists.
| Platform | US workers | Specialist tracks |
|---|---|---|
| DataAnnotation.tech | Yes | Coding, STEM, writing |
| Outlier | Yes | Code, legal, medical, science |
| Alignerr | Yes | STEM, engineering, audio and voice |
| Mercor | Yes | Law, medicine, finance, security, software |
| Remotasks | Check at sign-up; Scale AI has redirected new sign-ups to Outlier in some countries | Mostly general tasks |
| TELUS Digital AI Community | Yes | Search evaluation, languages, software and legal review |
| Appen CrowdGen | Yes | Languages, audio, STEM |
| OneForma | Yes | Translation, speech, transcription |
| Prolific | Yes | Research studies, some AI-feedback studies |
| Mindrift (Toloka) | Verify per project | Expert evaluation tasks |
| Handshake AI | Often requires US work authorization | Graduate-level subject experts |
| RWS TrainAI | Yes | Senior technical/ML, domain expert (medical, legal, finance) |
| Clickworker | Yes | Microtasks, surveys, voice recordings, UHRS search tasks |
| Surge AI | Yes | AI response rating, data labeling, specialized writing |
| Invisible Technologies | Yes (130+ active US listings) | Finance, government, tech, language, audio, search evaluation |
We couldn't confirm every US-availability cell from a company page, so check each platform's sign-up terms before you spend an evening on an assessment.
The 2026 reality: demand has cooled
Start with the honest version, because it will save you time. Search interest in data annotation work peaked in early 2026 and has been sliding since, and the worker side of the market shows it.
Generalist work is being squeezed. CBC's analysis of the AI labour economy points to less demand for generalized labour, with Scale AI reportedly laying off generalist workers in Dallas as it shifts toward technical training. The broader logic is simple: as models improve, AI labs pre-label more of the easy material themselves and pay humans to verify the hard part. That favors coders, scientists and people with domain credentials over anyone who can click fast.
Workers describe it in their own words. A Breaking Even analysis of 1,532 public Outlier discussions on Reddit between late May and mid-August 2026 found account deactivations the most common complaint, followed by technical problems, empty queues and payment problems. The author also notes falling satisfaction with pay over the past six months. On the DataAnnotation side, Time reported workers saying tasks come and go, some applicants being told they passed the assessment but never getting projects, and one worker alleging thousands of dollars unpaid after deactivation. Threads in r/DataAnnotationTech and r/outlier_ai are where the "dashboard is empty" posts pile up; search them for your own platform before you commit hours.
What this means for you:
- Treat every platform as a stream that can pause. Comparison reviews warn that DataAnnotation projects can pause with no notice and Outlier workers are often suddenly offboarded from projects.
- Run two or three accounts. When one dashboard is empty, another usually isn't.
- Specialize if you can. Coding, math, science, law and non-English languages are where the money and the remaining demand sit.
- Count unpaid time. Assessments, onboarding and qualification tests are where a $25 an hour job quietly becomes a $12 one.
The 15 platforms, in plain English
1. DataAnnotation.tech
The benchmark everyone compares against. About $20 an hour for general tasks and $40 for coding, paid weekly through PayPal. You take an unpaid-feeling assessment of one to three hours first, and rejected applicants generally hear nothing. It is owned by Surge AI, a data labeling provider. Best for: writers and coders who can pass a reasoning-heavy test.
2. Outlier
Scale AI's expert-facing platform and the easiest door in: new workers typically earn $12–$18 an hour in their first weeks, rising to $18–$25, with code review and expert-tier work at $28–$60. The price is volatility: the same Reddit analysis counted empty queues and deactivations among the top complaints. Best for: beginners, and coders who can reach the higher tiers.
3. Alignerr
Lists a lot of STEM, engineering and audio work, and advertised rates are high on paper (listing averages near $90 an hour). Be careful with voice work in particular: one review says a $45 "per finished hour" rate works out to about $6.40 an hour once you count recording and editing time. Best for: domain experts who read the pay basis before accepting.
4. Mercor
The top of the market for experienced professionals: $40–$100+ an hour, with specialists higher, paid weekly via Stripe. It is selective (resume review plus an AI interview) and described as feast or famine. Best for: people with five-plus years in law, medicine, finance or software.
5. Remotasks
Also owned by Scale AI, but the low-rate, high-volume tier. It is still running, though new sign-ups have been redirected to Outlier in some countries. Whether it accepts you as a US worker can change month to month, so treat it as a fallback rather than a plan.
6. TELUS Digital AI Community
The old TELUS International rater program, now part of TELUS Digital. Classic rater roles run roughly $12–$18 an hour, with some English and expert listings higher. It has the toughest entry exam on the list (search evaluation, guidelines, attention to detail) but is described as more consistent. See the search evaluation section below for the job itself.
7. Appen CrowdGen
CrowdGen replaced the old Appen Connect portal. A 26-listing analysis puts the average at about $12 an hour, ranging from pennies to $50, with the best rates on voice and language work. Best for: multilingual workers and people who want an easy first account.
8. OneForma
A project marketplace from Centific covering transcription, translation, speech and data collection. Reported pay is the lowest here, $5–$15 an hour. Useful mainly if you speak a language in demand.
9. Prolific
Technically a research-participant site rather than an AI-training platform, but it now carries AI-feedback studies. It enforces a platform minimum above $8 an hour, and studies are typically reported around $12–$22. Good for filling gaps, not for replacing a paycheck.
10. Mindrift (formerly Toloka)
Toloka folded its contributor platform into Mindrift in July 2026, swapping microtasks for evaluation and expert tasks advertised at $15–$100+ an hour. Screening gates the better work, and payouts run on the 5th and 20th of the month through Payoneer.
11. Handshake AI
A fellowship-style program for graduate students, postdocs and subject experts: $75–$125 an hour, part-time, with defined start and end dates and regular payroll rather than per-task pay. Many roles require US work authorization. If you have an advanced degree, it is the steadiest option here.
12. RWS TrainAI
RWS's AI-data arm pays a wide range depending on task, language and skill tier: think $12–$18 an hour for general AI-data specialist work, $18–$35 for domain annotation, and $50–$250 an hour for senior technical or ML-specialist tracks, with some non-English language tasks priced far lower by country. The bigger flag is legitimacy, not pay: as of mid-September 2026, RWS carried a 1.8-out-of-5 Trustpilot score across 51 reviews, 86% of them one star, with recurring worker reports of late or missing payouts and support tickets that go nowhere, though some reviewers later confirmed they were eventually paid. Best for: specialists willing to track payment closely and escalate in writing if it stalls.
13. Clickworker
The lowest-paying name on this list, and a useful floor to measure the others against. Most workers report $2–$7 an hour on general microtasks — short surveys, data entry, categorization — though experienced workers doing Microsoft UHRS search-evaluation tasks can reach $12–$20 an hour. Clickworker pays reliably and weekly; it just doesn't pay much for most task types. Best for: filling small gaps between higher-paying platforms, not a primary income plan.
14. Surge AI
Surge AI is the company that owns and powers DataAnnotation.tech, but it also runs its own direct worker program with different task types — AI response rating, data labeling and specialized writing — through an open sign-up plus screening test, reportedly paying $5 to $30 an hour depending on the task. The bigger thing to know before you apply: a class-action lawsuit filed in May 2025 accuses Surge AI of misclassifying data-labelers as independent contractors, alleging unpaid training time and strict task time limits that effectively docked pay below minimum wage. The case's outcome wasn't public as of this writing. Best for: workers who already have a DataAnnotation account and want a second, related queue, with eyes open about the legal fight.
15. Invisible Technologies
A $100 million-funded AI training and business-process outsourcing company that also hires remote contractors for data labeling, research, writing and fact-checking, with 130-plus active US listings at any given time. Pay runs about $20 an hour for generalist AI-trainer tasks and $35 to $65-plus for finance, government and tech specialists. Legitimacy is the thing to weigh here: Trustpilot gives it a 2.3 out of 5 from contributor reviews (a small sample, 10 reviews), with recurring complaints about pay that varies by a worker's country, unpaid onboarding assessments, and sudden removal from projects. Best for: finance, government or tech specialists who read the Trustpilot complaints first.
Gigs beyond AI training
If you don't want to depend on an AI lab's project calendar, these older remote gigs keep the same flexible setup. Pay data here is carried over from our earlier version of this guide.
Online tutoring. Varsity Tutors pays up to $40 an hour in base pay plus incentives, and Outschool advertises $40–$100 an hour for classes, though it keeps roughly 30% of the listed price. You are not paid until you're booked, so the on-ramp is slower.
Content moderation. TELUS Digital moderators average around $27 an hour and Teleperformance social-media moderation near $23. The trade-off is the content: ask which category you'd review before accepting.
Search engine evaluation. The same rate-this-result structure as annotation. Telus raters average $17.16 an hour in the US, according to ZipRecruiter data from mid-2026, and it is a no-guaranteed-hours contractor model.
User testing. UserTesting sessions pay $4–$10 for short tests and $30–$120 for live interviews; Respondent.io skews higher at $50–$300 per study but accepts fewer people. Qualifying for each test is the real friction.
Virtual assistant work. Agency platforms like Belay pay $20–$23 an hour for general VA work, up to $28–$38 for bookkeeping or executive support; Upwork starts lower at around $15–$20. See remote part-time roles for employer-posted VA and support openings.
Transcription. Rev pays $0.30–$1.10 per audio minute, and a minute of audio takes about three to transcribe, so beginners often land under minimum wage. Compare that to BLS's $67,310 median for court reporters and captioners, who are trained stenographers, not gig transcribers.
Remote customer support (proceed carefully). Arise advertises $10–$16 an hour, but worker reviews describe $500–$750 or more in certification costs before earning anything. That pay-to-start pattern is exactly what the next section warns about.
How to spot a fake "AI trainer" recruiter
Because this niche is hot and loosely regulated, it attracts scammers. A fake-recruiter campaign using a "Phoebe R" persona has been documented pitching DataAnnotation work on LinkedIn and by text at $25–$40 an hour. Red flags:
- They contact you first. Real platforms (DataAnnotation included) send you to their own site to apply. Unsolicited texts, WhatsApp or Telegram pitches are the standard scam opener, and the FTC lists offers from strangers by unsolicited call or email as a warning sign.
- You're asked to pay. A "starter kit," software license or certification fee is a scam. The FTC's rule of thumb: don't pay for the promise of a job.
- Check-cashing. Any request to deposit a check and send money back is fraud.
- Free labor disguised as a test. Hours of unpaid labeling followed by silence, plus a request for your Social Security number, date of birth or ID before any contract, is a data-harvesting pattern.
- Vague titles and big pay. "AI Tutor" or "Digital Data Trainer" at $40+ an hour with no stated tasks or requirements.
- A lookalike domain or personal email. Type the company's official address into your browser yourself rather than clicking their link.
If you've been hit, contact your payment provider right away and report it at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
So what should you actually do?
The smartest move is the boring one. Apply to two or three platforms from different families: one generalist (DataAnnotation or Outlier), one that pays by expertise (Mercor, Handshake AI or Mindrift if you qualify), and one gig outside AI altogether. Log your real hours, including assessments, so you know your true hourly rate. And if you'd rather trade contractor unpredictability for a steady paycheck, JobSnag's remote healthcare listings include medical coding, care coordination and telehealth roles that don't need a clinical degree, and the full list of remote and hybrid roles covers everything else.
Line Cook — Houston, TX
Frequently asked questions
Is DataAnnotation.tech legit, and does it pay?
Yes. Workers report being paid weekly through PayPal at roughly $20 an hour for general work and $40 or more for coding. The main complaints are project pauses with no notice, applicants who pass the assessment but never get work, and occasional account deactivations.
What are the best sites like DataAnnotation?
For general work, Outlier and Appen CrowdGen are the closest. For experienced professionals, Mercor, Mindrift and Invisible Technologies pay more, and Handshake AI suits graduate students and PhDs. Most workers run two or three accounts because projects can pause.
Why is there no work on my DataAnnotation dashboard?
Project supply on AI training platforms swings with lab demand, and generalist work has cooled in 2026. Empty dashboards are a common complaint among workers. Keeping accounts on other platforms and building a coding or subject-expert profile is the usual workaround.
Do AI training jobs pay more than other work-from-home gigs?
Often, but not always. Coding and expert tasks can reach $40 to $100 or more an hour, while general tasks and platforms like OneForma pay $5 to $20. Unpaid assessments and waiting time lower the effective rate.
How can I tell if an AI trainer recruiter is fake?
Be suspicious of unsolicited texts or messages, requests for fees or a check deposit, early requests for your Social Security number, and vague titles with high pay. Apply only through the company's official website, and report scams at ReportFraud.ftc.gov.
Is Surge AI a legitimate alternative to DataAnnotation?
Surge AI owns DataAnnotation.tech and also runs its own worker program, paying roughly $5 to $30 an hour depending on task through an open application and screening test. It's real and currently hiring, but a May 2025 class-action lawsuit accuses it of misclassifying workers as contractors and underpaying them through strict task time limits, so weigh that before applying.
